Jerome Lee - A Bassic Life
Jerome Lee - A Bassic Life
Jerome Lee - A Bassic Life
Jerome Lee - A Bassic Life

Reviews

 

Review of "The Suits" by Jerome Lee

 
OMG I love this song! Most likely because I am a child of the 80s and 90s. Straight upbeat and positive song about wearing a suit. I can totally see this song in a movie. Please check out Jerome Lee's song "The Suits" here below.
 
Review by Sister Dorothy
 
Sister Dorothy's Music Blog
 
September 13, 2017

 

The Suits – Jerome Lee

The Suits by Jerome Lee is a R&B track that touches upon the styles of the 1980s and 1990s to build upon a very current and contemporary sound. The current sound of the track is predicated on how successfully it builds this blueprint; hints of Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, and Herbie Hancock can all be heard here. Jerome’s vocals are a particularly high point to the composition, while the backing instrumentation create a canvas upon wish Lee can weave a compelling voice with a fun little narrative. The drums and synths found here add further fullness to this track, which has a replay value that is unparalleled.

Review by James McQuiston

NeuFutur Magazine

Features, Music Reviews

June 2, 2016





 

Jerome Lee - Life This Time 2003

by Wildy's World BlogSpot

 Jerome Lee’s been making music for many years. His professional career goes back 31 years when he was stationed in Japan with the US military and playing club and concert dates with folks such as Oy Takahashi, Miyanoue Yoshiaki, Keiji Yoshida and The 9th Of June. After returning to the US, Lee became something of an in-demand player while continuing to write his own material. 2003 saw the release of Life This Time, a soul and funk-filled play at modern pop.

Life This Time opens with Prettiest Girl, a funky jam with a classic soul sound. Lee sounds like he's singing through a time machine; a young James Ingram reborn. Monkey Slide brings on the funk with some nifty dance beats. Lee's musical dogma is understated here , turning Monkey Slide into a delicious and snarky that's made from piano, guitar, keys and vibes. Reach is a pleasant listen but fails to distinguish itself as an essential track. In My Heart is a classic R&B ballad, circa 1985; complete with saxophone and jazz guitar sound effects. Druk Op De Een is the peppiest song here, complete with disco beats.

My absolutely favorite song here is Time Gone Away, a deep and beautiful ballad that sounds like it's played on baritone guitar. An instrumental tune; Time Gone Away doesn't need words to convey the sad hopefulness that runs through every phrase, passage and note Lee evokes from those six strings. Time Gone Away is a master class in emotive guitar playing.

Homecoming is a fairly typical ballad that is a pleasant listen but not particularly consequential.

The album closes with Student Jam; three-and-a-half minutes on what sounds like a Casio keyboard with some very funky bass interplay. This is what some folks might describe as elevator music, although a close listen reveals more complexity and diversion than is generally found in the musical Soma of enclosed places.

Jerome Lee's
Life This Time is up and down throughout, running from average to amazing. Lee is obviously incredibly talented, but tends to play in a genre/era mix that has been pretty much covered many times over.

When Lee really lets his creative abilities out of the box and just plays, the music is sublime.

Life This Time is a worthwhile venture.

Rating: 3 Stars (Out of 5)

Review by Wildy Haskell at Wildy's World Blogspot

Date - January 21, 2009





Life This Time - Jerome Lee

by BullFrogMusic Reviews

I liked Jerome Lee and his music as soon as I heard this Jazz/Funk/RnB/Soul release (his first, I think). The music just exudes a happy-live-and-let–live vibe that makes you want to hug the guy who made it all up. Lee has had a peripatetic life having lived in many American cities, Japan and Europe. Like a lot of serious working musicians, he’s worn a lot of hats in a lot of different milieus. I assume his well-rounded resume accounts for the cosmopolitan, man-of-the-world atmosphere of this CD.

A musician who plays a supporting instrument (bass in this case) try to prove their virtuosity by lengthy, complicated solos. Lee is too much of a professional for that. His bass work fits right into the mix without trying to overpower anyone else on the stage. The seams are invisible and the listener isn’t distracted by glaring bass passages. The production values are so good that you don’t even pay attention to them; there’s nothing that sticks out.

Lee’s voice seems a little strained at times, as though he’s singing a bit out of his range. But even this vocal style fits in with the overall feel of the release and no one but a voice nut like me would notice it.

The song lyrics are um…nice. There’s nothing groundbreaking in subject matter or style, but they’re still worth listening to over and over again. Lee speaks from the heart and you can tell he’s sincere. Listeners should go to his site and read his descriptions of the songs; there’s no canned PR blether; just honesty.

Lee is a master musician and songwriter. Why did he wait so long to produce his own CD?

Recommendation: Buy it.

Review by Jeremiah Sutherland at BullFrogMusic Reviews

Date - July 14, 2008

NOTE: BullFrog Music Reviews is currently offline as of February 2010

 

 

 

 

 

Prettiest Girl - Jerome Lee
by Single Of The Day

 

 

  Oh the infamous Disney phrase. Mirror, mirror on the wall. Who’s the fairest of them all? Oh the vanity. Oh the humanity. There isn’t a soul on the planet who doesn’t wish to be desired in some way shape or form. At least I can’t imagine one that doesn’t want to be desired. What begs to be asked is why is it when a soul gets desired why it may still reject being desired. Humans are funny creatures aren’t they?

 

Media spends a great deal of time exploring what we find to be attractive. Visit a supermarket and you’re likely to be bombarded at the checkout stand with tabloid covers doused in images of people who are considered to be attractive, rich or powerful. The three elements that make one human desirable to others. For the fortunate few they can combine all three and it’s as if they could become a deity.

 

Everyone has different things they find attractive but on the whole for guys I’m thinking there’s some women like Keira Knightley, Beyonce Knowles, Scarlett Johansson, Halle Berry, Natalie Portman, Rosario Dawson, Katherine Heigl, and so on, and so on. For women there’s some guys like Tom Cruise, Denzel Washington, Zack Braff, ok I give up. I’m not up on my hot hunks. Notice I’ve pretty much mentioned movie stars. Some how we really get taken a flutter by seeing someone up on the big screen.

 

That’s the concept behind today’s song, Prettiest Girl. The title says it all. From a guys perspective, unless of course you’re a lesbian and then it would apply there too. Actually while hanging out for the Super Bowl in Hermosa, I did see a female member of our group. I had met her before. The kind of attractive that makes even women turn a head and say “damn, she is fine.” She is lesbian and her partner was there too. Also attractive. So yes, it does apply.

 

Kick out the groove, pop in some soul and splash a little funk in there. That’s the breath behind the music. There’s an interesting mix of retro vibe combined with some modern synth elements. Along with a lot of live organic instruments groovin and funkin. I can appreciate it. It’s a fun kind of music to play. Though not a current “in sound”, that can’t stop the fact that it’s a song with some life. There’s hidden gems everywhere and even I can’t get to all of them. I’ll do my best.

 

Who’s your prettiest girl?

 


Review by Jody Whitesides at Single of the Day

Date - February 5, 2008

 






 

Life This Time - by Jerome Lee

by Improvijazzation Nation

Jerome Lee - LIFE THIS TIME: As you listen to the opener, "Time Gone Away", you won't be thinking "Rhythm & blues, blues, blues", perhaps, but you'll certainly realize just how large a talent you're privileged to hear - excellent guitar on this one!

That R&B sound comes shining through on "Prettiest Girl"... in fact, if I remember from my first listen to Jerome (on REVERBNATION), this is the tune that first caught my ear... took me right back to those '70's black juke joints down in Huntsville, Alabama... funk on fire, fer' sure!

The track that had me up on my feet (pretendin' I was 25 again... ha! ha!) all 'round my living room (with my headphones on, of course) was "Monkey Slide".... TOTAL fun, & just what that "good soul music" was all about when I was growing up with it all around me.

If you can't groove to Jerome's high energy, folks - you got both feet in th' hole already... I give this a MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for anyone who loves R&B, soul & jazz.

He gets an "EQ" (energy quotient) rating of 4.97 from me, too. Get more information at www.reverbnation.com/jeromelee (& be sure to tell him that brother Zzaj sent ya', ok?).

Rotcod Zzaj Review by

Dick Metcalf aka "Rotcod Zzaj"

Date - August 10, 2010






 

Life This Time - by Jerome Lee

by Target Audience Magazine

Jerome Lee has survived the test of time having been making music for 40 years! His work is truly what “adult contemporary” should be; great music for listening as background music in classy nightclubs or family restaurants.

Themes including finding love, happiness and beauty within a woman which lasts longer than outward appearances win favor with many audiences. His music may not strike emotive chords, but it is upbeat and fun to listen and dance to. The jazzy additions of tenor saxophone and the quality of mixing makes this great for radio play.

Jerome Lee makes music for audiences who don't necessarily need to feel overwhelmed by music; those who can simply enjoy an ambient atmosphere. I sincerely hope his music gets a chance to be heard by those who would appreciate it. Check him out at http://www.jeromelee.net/.

 

Review by Ellen Eldridge at Target Audience Magazine

Date - Fall 2009






 

Far Beyond Good...

by FaThEaD at Fuzz.com

'Prettiest Girl' is an unpretentious cat-call ~ Jerome Lee pulls off the neo-soul sound with an outstanding blend of thick, funky, uncompromising slap and what comes off as a Vandross on Steroids approach. This is gooood stuff.

As the playlist begins to take form with 'Monkey Slide' I can see the versatility of the group. 'Monkey Slide' is a fat jazz that makes no excuses. Some might call it experimental...ahem ~ that's what jazz is in its most pure form.

'Reach' is an endearing search for something completely external and is presented as a lovely bottom end, that would put many woofers to good use ~ and so as not to completely ignore the tweets Jerome Lee offers up some tubular bell work - this creates a great hardy tinny sweep. I absolutely dig the euphoric feel of this tune.

'In My Heart' incorporates some very sweet sax and very clean bass lines ~ a touch of tambourine and some more of the delicious tubular bell accents. The guitar work rounds this piece out as complimentary and only appears where absolutely necessary. "Druk Op De Een" or "Press On The One" ~ Yes, Yes, Yes. This song just kicks.

There are three more songs on this site...But, I am not going to spoil it for you. This is more than a listen...I highly recommend you crank this work and really get into what is going on.

Review by FaThEaD at Fuzz.com

Date - June 8, 2008

NOTE: Fuzz.com went offline on February 13, 2009.






 

Review for the song "Prettiest Girl" -

Very good song, good blend of soulful and latin rhythms. Lyrics are timely, positive, and upbeat.

Review by Staff Team Geerayrecords Review - July 16, 2007

NOTE: HotMusicShop.net went offline in March 2013.






 

Review for the song "Reach" -

I thought this song was excellent. Great lyrics, rhythm and beat. I like the hook and I think it will appeal to all audiences.

Review by Staff Team Geerayrecords Review - July 16, 2007

NOTE: HotMusicShop.net went offline in March 2013.






 

Song Review: "Prisoner Of Pretty Lies" by Ghost Embrace (2013)

Ghost Embrace - Prisoner Of Pretty Lies (song review) |self-released, Ghost Embrace, 2013| 5/5

Ghost Embrace is an American band from Colorado, led by Annette Freeman who's a singer-songwriter, as well as a music producer. Not only is she armed with a wide-scale, well trained voice and a 12 string guitar but also a few colorful tattoos. Aside from the lead singer, the band includes: Jerome Lee, a music industry veteran who spent over 40 years playing an electric bass; Chad Kent who has played drums since he turned 12 (known also from bands Atomship and Watership Down); as well as two talented guitar players - Nema Sobhani and Ryan Kargoll. The soft, well-chosen background vocals are performed by Madeline Gardner, Brett Weisz and Leah Rose.

"Prisoner Of Pretty Lies" is one of the songs published on the newly released Ghost Embrace album. The track brings a variety of influences and moods ranging from such genres as metal, progressive rock, soul and R&B. At 2 minutes and 50 seconds, the track is pretty short, but includes all the necessities of a good tune - a bright composition, soothing arrangements, moods that grown on you and professionally performed music.

Annette's voice dominates the entire track. There are peaks expressing the moments of strong emotions such as passion, possessiveness or jealousy (where Annette sounds predatory), but also sweeter and softer spots that may illustrate love, hope or tenderness. When Annette sings: "Loving who you might be, Taking it too far, Believing what I see, Is who you really are" it should make you realize that this calming track is relating to the subjects of loneliness and casual relationships. Every year, thousands of people fall in love with barely matched partners, just to kill boredom or emptiness in their own lives. They meet offline and online, jumping into relationships to search for their own worth in the eyes of others. It's pretty natural to have expectations, yet a low self-esteem can turn out to be a trap, for both involved parties. This song could be a perfect musical companion to a movie trailer, one which specifically touches the topics mentioned above - love stories o f people of all ages and orientations around the world.

"Prisoner Of Pretty Lies" could have sounded a bit too lyrical or moody, if not for the involvement of a dynamic duo - Chad with his confident perky metal drumming and Jerome providing warm blues/R&B bass lines. These two, mixed with progressive rock guitar solos brought by Nema and Ryan put a second life into the short composition. It seems that every musician in the band could have performed his or her part on their own equally well, leading to a bunch of great instrumental or a capella tracks. Still, together they complement one another to an even better result. The track was recorded at HyperThreat Sound, mixed by Dave Fortman (Balance Studios) and mastered by Adam Ayan (Gateway Mastering). If you agree that love can be a little confusing sometimes, check out "Prisoner Of Pretty Lies" by Ghost Embrace.

(Katarzyna 'NINa' Górnisiewicz, Fabryka Music Magazine, May 23rd, 2013)






 

Ghost Embrace –

Skilled Musicians Put Together Album Without Ever Being In The Same Room               

by Indie Band Guru

Anyone that has spent any time working at a recording studio has seen some amazing talent come in and out of the doors. What if you could take all of the best musicians that have played there and combine them into a supergroup of talent? One of the latest records I was sent seems to have just this idea. It goes by the title Ghost Embrace.

 

The owner of HyperThreat Sound Studio in Colorado, Annette Freeman, has been building quite the mix of ability and styles to combine into one impressive grouping. Musicians featured in Ghost Embrace include Jerome Lee, a well versed R&B bassist who has been in the game for many years, Chad Kent, drummer of Atomship and Watership Down. His incredible power and speed adds a new level and leads the group in a progressive direction.

Guitarist Nema Sobhani’s incredible speed and meticulous sweeps, and guitarist Ryan Kargoll’s melodic style are at the front end of this musical powerhouse. Background vocals are added by Brett Weisz and Leah Rose.

 The music was put together in an interesting way. Instead of everyone being in the same room playing together, each musician layed down their tracks one at a time allowing the freedom to express themselves without any pressure to fit into the band dynamic. The skills of experienced engineers at the studio allowed the songs to be put together in this organic style. I was able to get a listen to a few of the tracks from this process.

 

‘Prisoner Of Pretty Lies’ jumps out and grabs your attention right away with a technical skill that is very exotic. Drums and guitar lead the way to an amazing vocal performance. The song would most likely be considered progressive rock just due to the skills exposed. Another track ‘Rainbow Pirate’ follows the same pattern and allows all of the gifted musicians to play their hearts out with the mixing engineer cutting it all together later. This trend could produce some phenomenal music. Go get a taste for yourself at: http://www.hyperthreat.com/ghost-embrace.html

Review by Keith Pro - Indie Band Guru

September 27, 2013

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jerome Lee - 1&1 MyWebsite